Thread: New to tree frogs: heating w/o drying?

aquamentus11

Default New to tree frogs: heating w/o drying?

As stated, I'm new to tree frogs, but had been looking into getting one for months. I just moved and just prior to, when I went to go say goodbye to my local pet store (we had a great relationship) I ran across a little blue phase Rhacophorus spp. and had to get him. My girlfriend named him Marzipan because he looks like he's made out of it. Anyway, I read up on the species (apparently these little guys aren't true R. dennysi, but a closely related species) and have had a hard time finding solid info on them. I've been keeping him like a WTF just at slightly lower daytime temps (~75F ambient w/approx. 80 basking spot underneath the UVB bulb) and he seems to be doing very well. He eats 2 1/4" to 1/2" crickets every night or so. He's very tiny, probably about 1" long, but eats well and is active. I've got him in a 5.5 gal with pothos and another plant that I forget the name of. I have sphagnum for substrate now, but am thinking of switching to paper towel so that I can let the crickets run in the tank for him to hunt (as opposed to the glass bowl I've been using). My concern is for the winter. I have a tiny heat mat stuck to the side now, but we all know how worthless those are as primary heat sources. I prefer lamps when heating arboreal animals, but these tend to dry things out. Any suggestions on how to effectively heat an arboreal frog without drying him out? Thanks.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

bshmerlie

Default Re: New to tree frogs: heating w/o drying?

I would be very concered using a heat lamp on such a small tank. The smaller the tank the faster they heat up. There is also no room for a variation in temps and humidity within the tank.

aquamentus11