Thread: HELP ASAP - Just found Cope's Gray Tree Frog & No Idea where to begin w/setting up new home.

ColbyJoe

Question HELP ASAP - Just found Cope's Gray Tree Frog & No Idea where to begin w/setting up new home.

This morning my son found a very young Cope's Gray Tree Frog. She's not "tee tiny" but then I'm not sure what to compare her to when it comes to a tree frog (can someone compare an adult Cope's Gray w/an everyday object so I'll have a better idea? I'm not good with math so please don't use metrics.) I verified that it wasn't the regular Gray tree frog before anything else. As he is going to keep her and we know NOTHING about taking care of froggies PLEASE tell me "Step-by-Step" what I need to ensure that this little girl (I'm fairly sure it's a girl b/c of the very white throat/neck) is well taken care of. I know there is a whole section on here dedicated just to the care of frogs but from what I've read so far it doesn't offer me the "dummy" information that I need. My son has named her "Hoppy" and she's currently in a critter catcher, you know one of those things kids can catch bugs and lizards in to keep for an hour or two, until I can figure out what to do next. Should we get her a companion, another Cope's Gray or is she fine alone? But MOST IMPORTANTLY I need to know everything to get her new home in order: aquarium, type of dirt & how much, greenery, water & how much, food/vitamins (what types/how often), any special lighting, and does she need a heat source (we live in SC & it gets very hot down here but we keep our AC set on 75 degrees)? We had little green yard lizards one time and they had to have a heat rock so I'm really clueless. Kept them for a long time and they even layed eggs but the eggs never hatched. After about a year when the kids lost interest (they were 4, 4, and 2 at the time) we released them back into the yard which is where we caught them. Regardless of my stupidity, PLEASE HELP! My son is now 10 and is so excited! Plus my hus