Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Having trouble with temperature

Guillermo

Default Having trouble with temperature

Hi there! I just got my first lovely little pacman and hes adorable.

I am however having some issues getting the temperature right. The pet store recommended a certain kit but when I put the heat lamp (75 watt) on the outside facing in the side of my tank (5 gallon glass) it got up to 100 degrees! Turned it off. The lightbulb in the hood of the aquarium is keeping it at around 70 right now, which is too low, but better than room temp. If I can't figure it out before I need to sleep, I'll just keep that on for the night to keep him warm.

I read about using a heating mat on the side of the tank, but I fear it will also make it too hot. Should I suspend the heat lamp over the tank rather than putting it right against the tank? I'm very new to all this, so umb it down if you can? C:

I can't find any topics about how to adjust heat lamps and such, so if anyone can point me in the right direction I would really appreciate it! Thanks for reading, and for any help you can give!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

hotnickles96

Default Re: Having trouble with temperature

Just my Opinion.... Depending on your climate location, I would return the heat lamp and get a Under Tank Heater and attach it to the side of the tank. See if you can find a rheostat to stabilize the temp..

For now though I would just figure out a way to adjust the height of the bulb so it gets just warm enough.

Guillermo

I'm in PA, so its pretty cold right now, and when it gets pretty hot the AC goes on. xP I'll try to rig something up after I figure out how to use the clampy thingy with a screw thingy that came with the lamp...

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Welcome to the forum! Please read the pacman care sheet if you have not already: Frog Forum - Pacman and Horned Frogs - Ceratophrys - Care and Breeding