Thread: Sanity check on my plumbing, water feature, filtration idea

ndame88

Default Sanity check on my plumbing, water feature, filtration idea

So ready to purchase a a Exo 36x18x36, build a false bottom and about a third of the bottom being water. I have zero experience with aquarium plumbing and filtration so please let me know if this sounds right.

- Drill a hole for a bulkhead that will drain in to a 10 gal sump tank with a ball valve to control the rate of drainage to the sump
    - Canister filter(thinking Zoo Med 511) pulls the water from the sump tank, puts it back into the enclosure through a water fall
    - Misting system(mist king) pulls from sump tank and puts it back into the enclosure

so here are my questions:
    1. Can you drill Exo Terra Glass? If so, what size bulk head?
    2. Should the hole for the bulk head be in the bottom under the false bottom or on the back at the max height I want the water level to be?
    3. Is a Zoo Med 501 or 511 filter the right choice and is the pump strong enough to pull the water from the sump under the enclosure all the way back up to the water fall?

Thanks in advance for any replies

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

J Teezy

Default Re: Sanity check on my plumbing, water feature, filtration idea

i just typed out a big explanation and lost it so i'm not going to do it again but basically this is it

1. Do not use water from the sump for misting. Mister should run off its own reservoir with distilled or RO water not water that has traveled through the viv in same fashion

2. Having water drain to a sump and then pulled from the sump with a canister filter is doing too much. If you are going to use a canister filter than put the intake for the filter in the viv to pull from the water under the FB or drainage layer.