Thread: will a 9" marine toad eat a 4 1/2" cane toad

canheaton

Default will a 9" marine toad eat a 4 1/2" cane toad

hello
    this is my first time posting.

I just got a 9" surinam marine toad today. he is so amazing! right now i have him in with my 2 cane toads 4 1/2" and 5". will he try to eat the cane toads? if he did would this poison him? he is sooooo much bigger then my cane toads. should i just set him up with his oun tank?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: will a 9" marine toad eat a 4 1/2" cane toad

They are both highly toxic and should NOT be housed together.
    Rest in peace Rosie 5-31-12
    Rest in peace Rufus 2-7-14
    Rest in peace Morph 8-14-15

Nationality
    [United States]

Quote Originally Posted by kueluck View Post
    They are both highly toxic and should NOT be housed together.
    I second this post. Keeping those two species together is a disaster waiting to happen. They will poison each other even if they touch not to mention when sharing a water source and yes your Marine toad may try to eat the smaller Cane toads. Seperate. Them imediately.

Nationality
    [United States]

Someone please correct me if I am wrong, but I was under the impression that Marine Toad and Cane Toad were both names for the same species (Bufo marinus). Even so, they are aggressive feeders and could be cannibalistic, so I concur with those above and recommend keeping them in separate enclosures.

Edit: I just checked and the genus has been changed, so it should be Rhinella marina, but Marine toad and Cane toad are both common names for this species.

http://www.invasivespeciesinfo.gov/a...canetoad.shtml
    I used to think that I had to understand in order to believe, then I realized that I must believe in order to understand - Augustine

Nationality
    [United States]