Thread: Identifying Redlegged Syndrome

tmalla1

Question Identifying Redlegged Syndrome

Hey everyone. Ive had my Whites for about two months now and love them! Although since i am fairly new to frog keeping, i was wondering if there is an easy way to determine if my frogs have red leg or not? I know their back legs are normally a pinkish color but im scared i wont be able to differentiate that frog red leg..

Any help for a beginner?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Identifying Redlegged Syndrome

Quote Originally Posted by tmalla1 View Post
    Hey everyone. Ive had my Whites for about two months now and love them! Although since i am fairly new to frog keeping, i was wondering if there is an easy way to determine if my frogs have red leg or not? I know their back legs are normally a pinkish color but im scared i wont be able to differentiate that frog red leg..

Any help for a beginner?
    Its usually dark around the in thighs and can be on the abdomin as well. Looks like blood traped under the skin which is actually what it is. Its caused by a bacterial infection that causes the small blood vessels under their skin to swell and burst. Cleanliness is the best preventative step you can take.

tmalla1

Quote Originally Posted by GrifTheGreat View Post
    Its usually dark around the in thighs and can be on the abdomin as well. Looks like blood traped under the skin which is actually what it is. Its caused by a bacterial infection that causes the small blood vessels under their skin to swell and burst. Cleanliness is the best preventative step you can take.

So should I be looking for more blood red coloring on the legs? And just ignore the normal pinkish coloring underneath the legs? I just want to make sure that that coloring is normal

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Quote Originally Posted by tmalla1 View Post