Thread: Complete newbie question: changing the paper towels

Taxi

Default Complete newbie question: changing the paper towels

Hi everyone,

So I got a Red-Eyed Tree Frog for Christmas, much to my surprise. I'm sort of freaking out about not knowing how to take care of it--reading a lot on this site is helping. Anyway, he's still little, so I've got him in a small plastic house with a lamp, a small leafy plant he can climb on and hide in, and a bowl of water, and the bottom is lined with paper towels. So far so good. But I'm wondering what's the best way to change the paper towels.

I'm trying to keep my distance and let him settle in so he doesn't get too stressed. He hasn't eaten yet, I assume because he's still stressed from the move. During the day I only come close to mist the tank (it's very dry in my house overall, so I do this a bunch.) Although I'd love to watch him all night (I'm pretty nocturnal myself), when it's lights-out time I put a cloth over his house so it's nice and dark and hopefully not too scary. However, I also have to replace the paper towel, which seems like a terrifying ordeal for the little guy. What I heard was that I should get him into a little temporary tupperware container (I poked holes in for breathing) for the five minutes while I change the paper towels. But how to get him in? I don't want to handle him or push him or anything. When I tried to get him in today he jumped away and looked scared to death (I also was scared to death of hurting him) and I thought, there's got to be a right way to do this. So I come to you guys.

How do I change the paper towels in my red-eye's tank without stressing him out more than necessary?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

frognerd101

Default Re: Complete newbie question: changing the paper towels