Thread: New project, HELP!!

John61510

Smile New project, HELP!!

Hello my name is john and i have 2 D. Aratus that I got about two weeks ago, after looking at everyones projects on here, I want to start my own.I haven't decided whether or not to do some type of waterfall/flow or to do a corner of water with fish. Any suggestions will help! What things will I need? What small pump is best? Anything? And what is the plastic stuff ppl are using for false bottoms that has the squares(they put it on top of PVC)? Thanks hope I get some help and tips and anything lol

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [Canada]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: New project, HELP!!

Hello John! Welcome to the forum! I am new at keeping frogs myself but I will see if I can be of any help. What kind of setup do you have right now? Pics would help if you have any. Ok here goes... I believe Auratus is a terrestrial species, no? You will need a setup that has more floor space than height. The plastic used for false bottoms is egg crate used for lighting fixtures. It is sold at most home improvement stores. It is used as a drainage layer so the substrate does not stay too wet. I think that for a first vivarium it would be easier to use a drainage layer of LECA or hydroton, although these are harder to obtain. Can you tell me a little more about what you are looking for in your viv?

Nationality
    [United States]

Have not done a frog set-up yet; but agree the white squared material is found in the lighting area at both Lowe's or Home Depot and is called "Egg Crate Lighting Panel."