Thread: Proud New Frog Owner - Blue Chubby Frog or Dumpy Frog

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Proud New Frog Owner - Blue Chubby Frog or Dumpy Frog

Hi, I’m fairly new at all this frog stuff...
    My son wanted a frog, and was told at the pet store the Blue Chubby Frog or Dumpy Frog was the best for beginners, and could be easily handled. so that’s what we got, and he is just adorable! A juvenile only about 2 inches long.
    The 10 gallon terrarium has about 2" coconut shavings, and on top of that about 2" of moss. I’ve moistened the substrate with non-chlorine water. I’ve stuck a heat pad on the side. I’ve placed a shallow dish with water on one side, and placed some fake plants and a tree limb going diagonally across and up the side of the tank for him to climb. I’m also using a fluorescent bulb (during the day) that came with the tank when we originally used it for fish. (all of this per the advice of the pet store) Temperature hovers around 65, and humidity around 60.

I have some questions:
    1. The frog has been hiding since we brought him home (for 2 days) buried under the substrate, is this ok? normal?
    2. the frog will not eat any crickets, how often do they eat?
    3. I can’t get the heat above 65 with just the heat pad, so today I added a red overhead lamp for use during the day (in addition to the fluorescent) and plan on using it alone at night. Temp is now at about 75. Again, is this ok?

I assumed the frog would be more active, but he doesn’t move at all. My son and I unearthed him this morning and held him a little, then he shot out pee! Is he ok? Is he just adjusting to his new home?
    Also, the coconut shavings seem to stick to him, he was covered when we unearthed him, should I take these out and only use the moss?

Hoping someone can guide us on how to give this little ’Froggy’ (my son’s name for him) a wonderful life and home.
    (Posted same on another website, hoping for feedback!)