Thread: Buying WTfs?

rosaphile

Default Buying WTfs?

So it's looking like I will have to order online since I can't find any in the pet stores and I can't find any breeders around here. I hate having to order these online and pay $40 for overnight shipping, though! They are supposed to be so popular and common, so (a) why can't I find any locally and (b) why do they cost so dang much? ($20 to $30 most sites I have found, even for babies).

I am really new to the whole frog/herp thing so maybe I am missing something. Is there an easier way to find a local breeder than Googling? Where do most people get theirs? My husband is going to go all purple in the face if I tell him it's going to cost $70-$100 to get a pair of WTFs.

Posting in the Wanted section at the bottom, hopefully that will get me somewhere....

PS. Also recommendations on online dealers would be good, I guess.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Badger

Default Re: Buying WTfs?

Post in all the forums wanted sections, (Dendroboard, kingsnake etc.) And search Faunaclassifieds and other classifieds. Kingsnake has a great classifieds section.

rosaphile

Thanks, Dalton. Looks like Dendroboard won't let me post in "Wanted" until I have 25 posts on their boards. No luck with Kingsnake classifieds but I have posted a request so hopefully someone will respond!

More than ever I am wishing my son would have chosen FBT's, sigh. Petco had some really nice-looking ones for like $6 apiece.

Badger

It gets frustrating, I know.

Given that they can live 15-20 years, $70-$100 seems like a bargain for a pair of them. Not even a penny a day each.

So none of the pet stores near you carry them or are they just out of stock?

You can also try looking for upcoming reptile/amphibian expos near you.

Also check kijiji or craigslist. Even in my rural area I've had a few ads from people looking to get rid of theirs pop up over the past year.

Best of luck!

rosaphile