Thread: RETF sleeping a week straight?

JayF

Default RETF sleeping a week straight?

I had my 3 RETF for over a year and they been doing great. There is one now though that has been sleeping for over a week straight. I am up to at least 3 a.m everyday so I believe he is not waking up. He is on the back of the glass. Very fat but doesn't wake up for some reason. Is this a problem or do they do this from time to time? Never seen them do this before? Color looks good. He is a dark green because he is in a darkish corner. I have a 18x18x18 tank. Temp during the day 75-85 night 70-75. Humidity around 75-80.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [Sweden]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

They do sleep more/less than usual from time to time. However, a week sounds long. How is the day/night-cycle? Are is his enclosure dark after the light is out? I'm no expert, but it sounds like he's to afraid to venture out in the tank. Have you changed anything recently, that he could still be stressing about?

JayF

Default Re: RETF sleeping a week straight?

His day and night cycle is 12 hours. Light are on 9:30 a.m to 9:30 p.m. I did clean out there tank about 2 weeks ago. Everytime I do I always make it look different, rearrange stuff. He has always been fine with this. The only change that I can think of is that I run a night time bulb now because of weather starting to get cold. I run a incadesent bulb for heat purposes. Like I said looks fine just hasn't moved from the same spot in about a week.

Nationality
    [Sweden]
    Blog Entries

I would recommend you to stop rearranging to often, as this is likely to stress him. They seem to do better when they know their envoirment. The are creatures of habit (to some extent at least). This is actually quite easy to see when I feed them, for example. They always, and I do mean always, take the exact same route to the feeding bowl every time.