Thread: A heating pad for my pacman?

Camden

Default A heating pad for my pacman?

I'm extremely new to the amphibian world. I've never owned a frog or newt or anything in my life, but I did some intense research for about a month or two before I got my pacman.
    I just got my pacman TODAY. But I bought a heatpad, and I stuck it to the outside bottom of the tank. Is it recommended to turn it on at night so my frog doesn't get cold?

PS. My pacman is doing great for it's first day home. He was a bit nervous at first, but he eventually burrowed down and gave me a few chirps!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

R3N3G4D3

Default Re: A heating pad for my pacman?

You should never keep a tank heater at the bottom of a pacman frog's habitat. They burrow in the substrate to cool their bodies down and escape heat, putting the heater at the bottom doesn't allow them to do this because the heat is coming from the bottom!

The best place for a tank heater is on the side of the terrarium opposite the water dish. The part of your enclosure where the water dish sits is where your frog will bury itself to stay cool, so putting the heating pad on the other side allows your frog to have an area to warm up if need be. Giving him/her a cool side and a warm side is an ideal set up. Also, its best to always keep the heating pad on at all times if your terrarium is staying between 75 and 85 degrees - this will allow your frog the regulate his/her temperature by moving to the side it needs to.

Camden

Thank you so much! Antoine (The pacman) and I thank you!!

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums