Thread: Hi everyone! Also after some advice with regards red eyed tree frogs..

ben7ani

Default Hi everyone! Also after some advice with regards red eyed tree frogs..

Hi everyone, I'm glad I have found what appears to be a decent community for advice and to share my own experiences. I am completely new to frogs having never kept any before; I have kept reptiles (crested geckos, giant day geckos, a panther chameleon and a royal python) but have never kept amphibians.

I bought a couple of red eyed tree frogs from a fantastic store with some experienced keepers of exotic animals that I know quite well now.

However, it can never hurt for some more advice. I pretty much went on my own experience and research with regards these animals and set up but want some opinions and suggestions on what I have done so far if at all possible?

I have bought two captive bred juvenile red eyed tree frogs, both seem healthy and free from infection from what I can see and come from a reliable breeder; both seem alert (when they weren’t sleeping in the vivarium), bright eyed and free moving when briefly handled (both can jump and crawl no problems).

I have the following:
    • 1x exo-terra 30cm(W) x 30cm(D) x 45cm(H) (prepared to expand with age but have heard this is adequate, but obviously the more space the better as with any animal)
    • 1x branch that covers the majority of the height and all of the width of the vivarium branching off at various angles.
    • 1x artificial plant that covers ¼ of the tank dangling from the background.
    • 1x medium sized water dish at the bottom to soak in when required (changed daily).
    • 1x 60W moonlight bulb attached to a thermostat currently set to 27°C (this also allows it to come on at night not affecting the day/night cycle and to keep up the ambient air temperature). With it being a moonlight bulb, it will not produce as much heat as a standard 60 watt daylight bulb and appears to be working well (so I am led to believe).