Thread: URGENT: White's Tree Frog Unknown Infection

Default URGENT: White's Tree Frog Unknown Infection

Hello, I'm new to this kind of environment but with all of my research turning up nothing, I've run out of options.

I currently have one sick frog (an adult female) with an orange-ish rash on her stomach. The frog stays close to the ground and seems to breathe heavily and force a secretion through its skin, like a thick sweat. She shared a tank with three other white's (one female, two male). The other male was the first to show these symptoms but has since passed. From the time I noticed the rash, he lasted about four days at most. After his symptoms first showing up and sudden passing, the other frogs were separated. Now I'm constantly checking on the three remaining individuals' stomachs, and I can't help but think every minor discolouration is this mysterious infection.

I've never had an animal with redleg (I have taken care of amphibians for most of my life), but based purely off the pictures I've seen, it isn't entirely similar to this infection. Two of the frogs developed signs of fungal dermatitis a year or so ago, only a week after being purchased, but they were long since treated and have shown no signs of the fungus. It is also worth noting that the animals that exhibited fungal dermatitis are not the two that had come down with this new infection.

Recently, I had also found that fruit flies that emerged from the substrate (a problem that has persisted for some time) were host to mites apparently using them for transport. Could the two be connected?