Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cornuta Temperature

Christian

Default Cornuta Temperature

Hi All,
    This is my first post. I have been keeping herps for at least 25 years and would consider myself fairly experienced with quite a few different species. I have raised C Ornata and P Adspersus before and kept other amphibians long term. A friend of mine has had a C Cornuta for about three months which has been doing well with him. He believes it is captive bred originally. I acquired this great frog from him last week (late Thursday night). I am pretty sure that I have all parameters right, substrate etc. I am concerned about the temp's though. I am concerned though as he has not fed yet and seems a bit thinner than when i picked him up. I have been putting crickets in which he is ignoring.
    I have tried to have a range of 78-79 F top temp down to about 74F at the cool end. He is down at the cool end at the moment? My friend was keeping him in a herp room which was heated to 78F during the day and 74F at night.
    • Should I turn the temp up? How cool should the coolest part be?
    • Should I soak him?
    • Should I just keep trying the crickets offered in the tank or should I get him out and try offering food on tongs?

Thanks for your help.
    Christian

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

ornate510

Default Re: Cornuta Temperature

Soak him in dechlorinated water. Temp should be 82° and take out food that hasnt been eaten. Try leaving him alone for a day after soaking. And then put 1 appropriate size cricket and leave ovetnight.

Nationality
    [Canada]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

you should keep him at 80-82 ( day), 76-78 ( night), your temps are too low.

and welcome to the forum!
    Save one animal and it doesn't change the world, but it surely changes the world for that one animal!

Nationality
    [Canada]

Quote Originally Posted by ornate510 View Post