Thread: Ideas Please!

Manchas

Default Ideas Please!

Hello Frog Forum-ers, I need some ideas. I have a 10 gallon long tank, and an Zoomed 12x12x18. And I have a whites tree frog, named Manchas he is about 2 inches long, in the 12x12x18 as of now so in between
    now and the build, not sure how to house him
    what lighting should i use? Where i keep the terrarium it does not stay warm it barely hovering around 70 degrees (I'm a newbie what can i say)
    I would perfer not to do a Great stuff background, so ideas are welcome there..
    Also I would like a small water feature, I think..
    All Ideas on what to do and how to do it are welcome!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Shanny

Default Re: Ideas Please!

I use a UVB bulb on a timer from 8am to 8pm, I run a 25watt red heat bulb 24/7. Frogs cannot see the red light, so u won't disturb him at night. I also have a medium zoo med heat pad for extra heat, I live in Minnesota so it's pretty cold here right now. My 2 red eyes are in a 18x18x24 now, I was keeping them in a 29gal normal fish tank temporarily until I could afford this one.
    You can buy backgrounds at pet shops, either the styrofoam or I've also seen the stuff that is wood and looks like the bark off trees. I never had a background until I got my new tank, just had a lot of stick, vines, and plants and my frogs were fine.
    As for a water feature, I actually built my own. I used a large flat rock that I found outside (boiled it for 30 minutes to clean it) to make a little river. I took a small water pump with 1/2 inch tubing that was about 3inches long, then I put 2 flat rocks over the tubing. The river runs from the back left corner, all the way to the front of my terrarium, where then it just runs off into my false bottom and recirculates.

Below are photos of my tank river before and after I planted it.

Nationality
    [Sweden]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Quote Originally Posted by Manchas View Post