Thread: Introduction and questions

Tidal

Default Introduction and questions

Hi everyone

For the past few months I've been considering getting some frogs and have spent a lot of time reading books and care sheets, and forums to see what experiences other people have had. At first I was drawn to golden dart frogs and the elaborate vivariums people create for them. Some day I hope to keep some, but as I have no prior experience with amphibians I'd like to begin with a less demanding species and see how things go. I think Gray tree frogs would be a good species to start with, and I'm considering getting several, perhaps three or four to have a mix of personalities.

The first thing I'll need to decide is what kind of enclosure to get. I've found two possible options. The first is an Exo Terra glass terrarium with dimensions of 18" x 18" x 24". The other is a VivExotic wood vivarium with dimensions of 36" x 18.5" x 21", nearly twice as large as the Exo Terra although slightly less tall. Even the 48" version of the VivExotic is about the same price as the Exo Terra. Would a wood vivarium be suitable for gray tree frogs, or is glass a much better choice despite the smaller size?

I'll probably have many other questions later, but understanding this one would be of great help for now. I'm looking forward to learning all that I can from the forum.

Sierra

Default Re: Introduction and questions

I think that glass is better for tree frogs, but as long as you are able to maintain it, I think wood would be fine. Tree frogs will always enjoy height over width. I have a 18x18x24 Exo Terra and I love it. The maintenance is really easy. I know this probably isn't much help, but as long as you make sure there is enough space for the amount of frogs you are going to have, and that there is substantial height, your frogs will be happy! Have you considered a Whites tree frog?

Tidal