Thread: Just Sayin Hi!

kRiBBiTd

Post Just Sayin Hi!

Hey everyone!
    My name is Kristin. I've been a frog lover for my entire life but only recently was able to keep one as a pet. I have one American Bullfrog, Jeremiah. I raised him from a tadpole and he is now a young froglet. I'm having trouble getting him to eat so if anyone has suggestions let me know please.

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Just Sayin Hi!

Hello and welcome!! I have no experience with bullfrogs, but a few things that might help out the others... what is the temperature and humidity? What kind of vivarium is he in? What have you been feeding him?
    2.0.3 Hyla versicolor "Eastern Gray Tree Frogs"
    2.2.0 Agalychnis callidryas "Red Eyed Tree Frogs"

0.0.3 Dendrobates auratus "Turquoise and Bronze"
    0.0.1 Anaxyrus fowleri "Fowler's Toad"

3. This member thanks LilyPad for this post:

Fae

Welcome to the forum! I have some bronze frogs (one of them named Jeremiah ) that I raised from babies... and I feed them with feeding tweezers. You could try that maybe with a wax worm or a small red wiggler. Crickets may work as well. You will need to kind of tease him with it (wiggle it) because they like live things. Typically it takes them a few days to eat after they turn into lil froggies. I hope feeding him works out for you. Good luck.

5. This member thanks Fae for this post:

Nationality
    [Ireland]

Welcome to the forum Kristin. The food needs to move to attract him. If he only recently lost a tail there will be a lag time before he starts to eat food. Crickets are an excellent choice.
    Founder of Frogforum.net (2008) and Caudata.org (2001)

7. This member thanks John for this post:

kRiBBiTd