Thread: Opinions Sought - I'm a Complete Beginner!

MrsH

Question Opinions Sought - I'm a Complete Beginner!

Hello Everyone!

I want to convert a Grandfather clock and put a tank of some sort in it. Someone suggested I try frogs as they would like the height (providing I stayed away from aquatic frogs), and not be too worried about lack of width / depth.

Measurements of tank will be: One meter tall x 8 inches deep x 12 inches wide - weight is not a problem as internal support will be provided.

I'd love anyone and everyone's opinion on this! Is this a realistic idea? Will frogs be happy to live in this space etc.

Finally, if people are not outraged at my stupidity for suggesting such a thing - does anyone have any ideas of frogs for beginners that I could try? I'd like bright and colourful. How much maintenance is required realistically?

Ideally what material would the tank be made of? Does it need to be heated? (I'm guessing this depends on the type of frog mind.

Thanks for reading!

Mrs H

clownonfire

Default Re: Opinions Sought - I'm a Complete Beginner!

Welcome to Frog Forum, Mrs. H. This sounds like an interesting challenge. But it would hold a few challenges.

Right off the bat, I am thinking tree frogs: Red-Eyed tree frog, American Green tree frog, Big Eyed tree frog... If you go with one, stay with one species... It's better for the frog. Tree frogs need vertical tanks, the higher, the better, they like to climb high.

Now one of my concerns would be humidity... Some tree frogs need higher humidity. This could warp the wood. Nor do I think the wood would keep the humidity in. It would also need to be completely secured, as these little buggers are escape artists.

These would be my biggest concerns... But it's possible. How much work are you willing to put into it... ? In order to work, it needs to be ideal for the frogs. After all, we want the wellbeing our the animals, right?

Eric

3. This member thanks clownonfire for this post:

MrsH

Hi Eric