Thread: Found a toad should I keep him

preschoolfrogmaybe

Default Found a toad should I keep him

I found a toad tonight in my front yard actually. I live in ohio so we got crummy wet rainy colder weather right now. I came home around 8:30pm and walked up to my house only to have a small toad jump out to greet me. Well I picked hiim up because my puppy (saint bernard/great dane) was comming out to go potty and he surely would have thought he was a chew toy. Well when I picked him up he was ICE cold like made my hands cold that cold. He just seemed to settle right into my hands and just stayed there.
    I am a preschool teacher who's new classroom at a new center will be opening soon well I was considering all sorts of things for class pets but never a toad until tonight. He was just so sweet and friendly. So he's inside right now in a 10 gallon aquariam with repti carpet (from an old lizzard I had) with a hiding hut and a climbing branch and a small dish of water.
    Im wondering should I keep him or is it best to let him go. Im getting attached all ready lol. But I want to do whats right by him, he's pretty small still.

Wormwood

Default Re: Found a toad should I keep him

It's probally just a common American Toad, they are found all over the midwest and actually make great little pets. The kids should enjoy it, just make sure they wash their hands after touching it as they do produce toxins, and will "pee" signifantly as a defensive action when handled. Those are the only two major negatives and might make it a "look - don't touch" animal , especially for pre-schoolers.