Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Quick, Cheap, Easy Terrarium/Vivarium

Nationality
    [Ireland]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Quick, Cheap, Easy Terrarium/Vivarium

A terrarium for less than $10 US? Yep. Try even less than that if you make a few. Provided you are not looking for a display terrarium, these are straightforward to make and easy to clean, light and not prone to breaking like glass. I have been making these for nearly 2 years to keep salamanders and frogs (mainly toads). I came up with this on my own but I apologise for any similarity to other people's ideas - call it convergent evolution.

Here's how it's made (you can see finished examples at the bottom of this post). The one I'm about to show you is designed for a lighting fixture to rest on top of it, so I'm using metal mesh as opposed to plastic mesh.

What you'll need:

• Aluminium mesh sold for window frames to keep insects out when the window is open - you can use other alternatives. I use the plastic variety for terrariums without a light fixture on top - plastic will melt under the heat of the light. You can buy this at a hardware shop - I got mine at Home Depot in the US - it's quite cheap (less than $10) for a roll and if you make multiple terrariums with it then it is almost pennies.
    • A 55L / 58 quart storage box sold by Walmart in the US, but you can use any other clip on alternative you can find, or any size - I have several smaller versions myself. These range from US $2 to $10, depending on the size.
    • A hot glue gun, available from hobby shops - these cost only a few $$$ from hobby lobby. Use the hotter variant of glue - it's designed for bonding plastic and metal. In my experience this glue is safe for terrarium lids - obviously I don't rub the animals in it but it seems to be pretty harmless.
    • Hot glue for the gun.
    • A sharp craft knife or "box cutters" as they call them in the US.