Thread: New to frogs with some questions!

frozensponge

Default New to frogs with some questions!

Hi all, my name is Ifan and am recently beginning to take a huge interest in frogs. i think they are very lovely and beautiful. Im not sure if im suppose to ask questions over here so maybe any one of you can reply me or send me a message. In any case, I have an exo- terra 18x18x24 lying around and so i thought it might be great to try and have a couple of frogs. Firstly, since I am new to frogs, i wonder what type of frogs would be a good start for me since the glass cage is pretty tall and would be more vertical than horizontal? secondly, i live in indiana, bloomington and it is difficult to maintain humidity and temperatures and so i wonder if the screen top of the exo-terra cage would be fine? In any case i just hope that someone may introduce me some species of frogs that may suit the cage best. i know that we do not find the species to suit the cage but i hope i can utilize whatever i have first before venturing in more investments. Thanks in advance!!!

bshmerlie

Default Re: New to frogs with some questions!

Welcome to the forum Ifan. Your Exo Terra is perfect for frogs, especially tree frogs. That tank is what a lot of us use here. As far as frogs go check out the care articles on the left. The Whites Tree Frog, the Red Eye Leaf Frog and the American Green tree frog are all good frogs to start with. As far as the humidity is concerned using live plants with the proper ground cover will help with that. You can also cover up a portion of the screen on top to keep in some moisture. Hand misting in the morning and at night is usually good enough to keep your humidity in the proper range. If you can get your tank set up before you get your frog that way you can make sure you are meeting the frogs environmental needs consistently. Good luck with your decision. Take a look in the photo albums that will give you some ideas.

Hi there! Welcome.