Thread: Dart Frog/Crested Gecko Room

thercman

Default Dart Frog/Crested Gecko Room

Hey all... I figured I should share my upcoming project. Currently I have 4 pairs of darts, D. auratus, D.leucomelus, D. tinctorias, and D.azureus. I have been keeping them for only a few years now and have decided to start the breeding process. With that said I am looking for two other species to add to the collection one being P. terribilis and the other Oophaga pumilio (bluejeans). A local breeder got hers to breed and I am in line for the offspring. Anyway, my current frogs are in 10 gallon tanks and one pair in a 18x18x18 terrarium. This upcoming weekend the local pet store is having their $1 per gallon sale on tanks. So the plan is to get six 15 gallon tanks, set them up similarly to the 10's but with petri dishes etc for breeding purposes. I also have a MistKing system that I will be using to promote breeding (rainy season) and connecting flexwatt heat tape on all the tanks controlled with rheostats (ie light switch dimmers). Attached is a pic of the room I just finished painting. Oh, I will be adding another shelf and an incubator soon. I have two really nice power strips attached to the rear shelves, one is always on and the other is timed and controls the lights. The Lights are going to get a quick coat of semigloss black to help give it a more professional appearance. Since the shelves are go to be for display the new tanks will sit side by side. The 15 gallon tanks will fill the shelves width and as mentioned there will be six tanks to make three shelves total. The bottom will be for the currently active fly cultures and other accessories. Another thing I am planning to do with the shelves is add a 1/4" piece of painted plywood just to add a bit of support since the wire bends a bit. Hope this will give you an idea of where I am going with this. If anyone has any suggestions please throw them out there... Thanks for reading..