Thread: White's Planted Vivarium - First ever build!

MrC4FF

Default White's Planted Vivarium - First ever build!

Hey everyone. Just wanted to take a chance to share my first and brand new vivarium with you all! I am completely new to all of this but I've been doing a lot of research and after a few days of the vivarium settling in my new White's Tree Frog now lives in here!

I will take a picture of him when I can but currently he's hiding under the African Violet because that's where he likes to sleep.

Without further ado, here is my first setup:

This is just after the daily spray so that's why It's looking quite damp. I'm not sure of the names of some of the plants, but I know they are White's safe. The only one I know by name is the African Violet in the far left, because thats where he likes to hide!

I have a clay ball base with a thin layer of cocoa bark substrate, followed by plantation soil substrate (built up more wherever there are plantings). Elsewhere there is the rest of the cocoa bark substrate and around the water dish there is some moss to keep the humidity in.

The vivarium has two compact tops, one with a sun glo 25w and 11w fluorescent for the plants, the other with two night glo 25w. It's beautiful at night but doesn't photograph so well.

I think I have done pretty well landscaping, any ideas or things I need please let me know because I am very new to this (but so far LOVING it!).

Oh and a bonus picture for you all, because Vivi (my White's) likes to sleep under the African Violet during the day guess who gets pride of place:

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [New Zealand]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: White's Planted Vivarium - First ever build!

Wow!! Very nice. You certainly have put a lot of thought and time into your set up. Looks awesome.