Thread: Sexing Bufo

fnord

Default Sexing Bufo

Im completely new to frogs and im getting a decent amount of bufu's from a friend,how can i tell the difference between males and females? When ther not breading should they be kept separated? How many babies do they have at a time?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Sexing bufus

As with most Anura, it can be very hard to sex individuals. It can be very hard to tell, even in species where size denotes dimorphism unless you know the ages of the animals.

The easiest way to tell them apart I have found, is set up breeding conditions. Males call, females do not.

In the case of Bufonids, A good heavy rainstorm at night usually does the trick. With my recent acquisitions, I put them outside duriing a thunderstorm the other night, and was able to confirm the sex of three of them for sure. I also tried an indor rain system, however only one of the males calls with that set up. I still have two smaller specimens that I am not sure of. I can personally confirm the rain method works for B. cognatus, B. woodhousii and B. nublifer.

However, I too am new to Anura keeping. I have decided to focus on Bufonidae simply because a lot of people do not keep them! (Never one to go with the flow, me...)
    Watching FrogTV because it is better when someone else has to maintain the enclosure!

Nationality
    [Ireland]

Default Re: Sexing bufus

Actually I find Bufo species, at least the ones I have experience with (from North America and Europe), to be amongst the easiest of anurans to sex. Males tend to be skinnier and slightly smaller (or in some species a lot smaller). They also tend to be more brightly coloured than the females, though this can be as subtle as a better contrast between the animal's colours. Some species, such as American toads, have differently coloured sexes - males are tan/brown, and females are a brown or brownish-red.