Thread: If they don't like filters...

ramble

Default If they don't like filters...

Will they ever get used to it? I added a very small submersible filter, set to the lowest flow. It doesn't seem to bother my female ADF but the male acts terrified, trying to bury himself, won't eat, won't come out, not calling, etc. And he's usually the ham!

After three days of not eating, he was looking skinny so I just turned the filter off, fed them and he's pigging out.

Will he ever accept the filter? Is it worth trying another like a canister or should I just switch back to water changes? They are in a 20g long, just the two frogs, with a Zoo Med 318 filter.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

100+ Post Member
    Nationality
    [United Kingdom]

Default Re: If they don't like filters...

I've had over 20 years experience of keeping Hymenochirus frogs.

I understand that your filter has a flow rate of 30-55 GPH, which in my view is excessive even at its lowest setting. Filters containing a motorised pump are designed principally for use in fish aquaria. Most fish originate from rivers and streams with strong water currents. Hymenochirus frogs, on the other hand, originate from pools (in equatorial west Africa) where the water's still or very slow-moving. It follows therefore, that if the frogs are kept in a tank with a lot of water movement at all levels of the tank, they are trying to survive in conditions that they're not adapted for.

I would recommended a gentle filter system such as an air powered foam or box filter. Of the two, the foam filter is probably best and very efficient when established. This type of filter provides good mechanical and biological filtration.

It is possible to keep the frogs successfully in tanks with a motorised pump filter but it's best if the turbulence is absorbed by directing the pump output towards the back, corner or side of the tank or attaching a spray bar directed upwards against the back of the tank.