Thread: Hi

DanikaMilles

Default Hi

My name is Sarah and I am new here and I was curious if anyone new at what age a peacock tree frog turns brown? I adopted her from a friend and I have no idea what age she is all I know is when I got her she was in the process of turning brown but she wasn't the green color anymore the start out with.

Jace

Default Re: Hi

Hi Sarah and welcome to the Forum. Unfortunately, I have no experience with Peacock Treefrogs so I cannot help you with your question but I am sure there is someone on the Forum who will be able to. Thanks for joining!

Could you please select your country for display purposes? Thank you!

DanikaMilles

Ok thank you and I will be sure to do that. She is also known as a big eyed tree frog hope that helps. I just found out that they start off a green color.

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

The peacock tree frog or vermiculated tree frog (Leptopelis vermiculatus) is one of the largest tree frogs in Africa. Males reach just under 2 inches and females are larger at about 3.5 inches. They are native to the east African nation of Tanzania. There are two basic patterns: green and brown. Green-backed individuals have dark vermiculations (spots), the sides being marked with a marbling of white and back. Brown-backed individuals have a darker-brown irregular triangle shape on the back ( the "point" facing forward). There are also some frogs with an olive-green pattern lined in black. A dark patch between the eyes. The belly is creamy white with a brown tinge. Juveniles are enamel green with black spots.

General tree frog care. 20-gallon vivarium with plenty of plants to climb on. Males are generally not territorial, so they can co-exist together. Medium to large crickets for adults, dust with calcium 1x week, feed 1 or 2 crix 3x week. UVB lamp recommended 13 hours on. Temp 85 day, 70 night, 90% humidity.

Good luck
    Terry Gampper