Thread: Using a fogger.

Jace

Default Using a fogger.

I am having a hard time keeping the humidity up in my Green Treefrog tank. It was suggested I use a fogger, and because I have never used one before, was wondering what other members thought of them and if there is anything I should know about using one? Thanks.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

bshmerlie

Default Re: Using a fogger.

I use the zoomed reptifogger in conjunction with the zoo med hygrotherm. That way your temp and humidity are exactly where you want them. You can even set for day and night drops.

Paul Rust

Personally I dont like foggers. I find the best way to keep postive control of humidity is to seal the enclosure and use fans to pull air out as needed. I always have a water feature for a source of moisture. This is for my leaf frogs, my darts a whole other story.

Jace

I use a medium sized water dish, but my humidity drops below 50% some days unless I mist 3-4 times a day. I am concerned about mould, so I want it to dry out some, but not drop so low that the frogs are stressed. Should I just stick with mistings, invest in a fogger or create a better water source?

Paul Rust

When i build the substrate I use rock then coco fibre and then a top of moss. This is so I can keep a few inches of water under the ground at all times for humidity. It works very well. In my larger setups I make ponds.

Jace

I have a so called "drainage layer" of aquariam gravel, with mesh overtop and then moss on top of that. Would adding a bit of water to that drainage layer be okay and help?

bshmerlie

I think it all depends on how dry your climate is where you live. Today in my house the humidity is 14%. I would have to mist 10 times a day to keep it where it needs to be. Also one third of my enclosure is water and it doesn't go over 40 % on its own. If you live in an area where it rains a lot misting would suffice.

Jace