Thread: My Intro and (long) story

into

Default My Intro and (long) story

Hello Everyone, I'm Chris.

I am new to keeping pet frogs and joined the forum to give them the best care I can.

I was one of those bad kids that did mean things to toads I found in the back yard (I won't go into details), so now it's my time to make up for that. My interest in frogs came about last Christmas when my son received a planet frog habitat as a gift. I promised when spring came, I would get him a little buddy. Well, spring came and I forgot about it, so did he until on a trip to a local waterfall we found hundreds of tadpoles swimming in a puddle. We caught two and brought them home. I searched all over the internet trying to identify these little guys and within a week, one of them climbed out of the water with symetrical spots on his back. They were american toads (or fowlers). I was thrilled watching them grow and bought them fruitflys to eat.

About two weeks later, I found the smaller one bloated in his water. He was very weak and I quarenteed him in a hospital container. He wouldn't eat but looked interesting the flightless fruitflys. the problem was that he couldn't walk well. His legs looked mangled half the time. About a week later he started acting more alert so I put him back into the habitat. The next day he was floating in his water and didn't make it.