Thread: Question about Gray Tree frog diet

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
    Nationality
    [United States]

Post Question about Gray Tree frog diet

Found a grey tree frog in a house plant and I got him all set up in a tank. He seems to have settled a bit and is moving around now. We are just keeping him until spring and I was wondering if it would be okay if he just ate mealworms. I have read their main diet should be crickets but my mom doesn't want to deal with the chirping. He seems pretty fat and healthy, will this be okay? I will try and convince her if it would be really bad for the little guy. This is my first time caring for a frog.

Nationality
    [United States]

Default Re: Question about Gray Tree frog diet

From experience... Adult crickets chirp alot but keep me somewhere like under a counter . I feed most of my frogs medium crickets and they do not chip nearly as much as adults I bairly even know they are right under the side table in my living room. Make sure they have a place to hide and a potato to eat and get water from. Also if you get a container to keep them in put 2inch clear packing tape along the top so they dont escape when you open it. Its winter and frogs arent as hungry. I personaly haven't givin any frog its 1st meal worm I figure the worms will just burrow and hide making it less likely the frog will eat. Day lights with UVB are always good. Misting the cage 1 or 2 times a day and just keeping the container at comfortable temp for you should be good for the frog

Proud parent of...2 Retf, 1 whites tf, 2 agtf, 1 Btf, 2 Milk tf froglets, 1 packman

Nationality
    [United States]

Quote Originally Posted by Earwood18 View Post