Thread: A very worried frog mum!!

Default A very worried frog mum!!

Hi all! I'm completely new to the housing of amphibians of any kind (started two days ago) and forums in general to be honest, so I apologize if I'm posting in the wrong spot. I just got my first Pac-Man Frog, and I've named him Zacharie! He's about the size of a dollar coin (such a little man I love him) and has not refused food yet. He likes to hide in the substrate, which I understand is very normal! But I keep fretting and thinking he's died because I can't see his breathing or heartbeat. It's so hard to resist the urge to poke, and I'll admit I sometimes uncover him a tad to check if he's breathing or not - it doesn't look like he is! I'm sure if I reached in and grabbed him he'd give me some indication as to his state, but I don't want to manhandle the poor guy! How do I tell for sure if he's dead or just being lazy without freaking him out?

Many thanks!!!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: A very worried frog mum!!

Welcome to the hobby, here is a bit of information you may find helpful.

Amphibian respiration is extremely different from human respiration. Oxygen is absorbed through the skin in part and almost exclusively in some species such as lungless salamanders. In addition, Frogs also lack a diaphragm and draw air internally to their lungs by inflating and deflating the spot below the jaw. Therefore you won’t see the “chest” expand and contract the way it would in mammals. Amphibians on the whole also have slow metabolisms and are generally tolerant of handling lower oxygen levels in their environment (hypoxia) than mammals. Therefore they don’t need the active more evolved respitory system we humans have.