Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New to the hobby.

Default New to the hobby.

Hello everyone my name is Dan. I recently built a vivarium over my 125gal aquarium to make one beautiful paludarium . This is my first time housing lizards but this all started with a fire-belly toad named Tom. I got Tom from a family member who could not house him any more, the second my daughter and I got him home we fell in love. Countless hours of YouTube videos later we began the build. First I sketched a picture of a Madagascar landscape that I found off of Google. The species list I had in mind was 4 Madagascar giant day geckos and 3 red-eyed tree frogs and one girlfriend for Tom.

Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk

Default Re: New to the hobby.

I decided to create my background out of styrofoam

After I was satisfied with my shape I painted it to get a feel for my finish product and also placed above my take to make sure my glass box design would fit around it.

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries

I don't think the Fire Bellied Toad should be included. They are toxic and can become fatal to the RETF or Gecko if consumed. Also they will poison the water which could poison the tree frogs and day geckos. The toad however doesn't need too much space.

I really like your idea a lot but you should consider species from the actual area of Madagascar. The Gecko is but the frogs are not. It might be better to have fish or some type of insects that are not predacious. Frogs and lizards are hard to cohabitate properly. The Gecko needs temps warmer then the frogs and could kill them or make them stressed and sick.

Like I said I'm not trying to find things wrong I just want you to have the healthiest animals and help you to avoid problems as much as possible.

Sent from my BLN-L24 using Tapatalk

Thanks for the heads up. I only came up with that reptile/amphibian cocktail from this article