Thread: Baby Pacman Questions

Nationality
    [United States]

Default Baby Pacman Questions

Hello!

So I'm unsure if I'm just overthinking but I wanted to get some feedback on my current situation. I bought a baby Pacman frog on Saturday! He's super cute and small (a little bit bigger than a quarter). I did as much research as I could but I'm such a noob with a lot of questions as I'm new to the whole frog-mom life LOL.

Since Saturday, I've tried tong-feeding him small crickets every day but he just turned away and showed no interest at all.

On Sunday, I saw him chilling in his water dish and tried tong-feeding him crickets. He didn't take it and then started to try and hop out of the dish, but he was struggling so much that I thought it was too big for him. I replaced it with a smaller dish.

I got worried because I read that baby Pacman frogs should be eating every day. I thought maybe his enclosure (a 10 gallon tank) was too big and was stressing him out.

After reading this forum (recently), I realize I probably should've waited a few more days before making adjustments but on Monday I moved this big log hide to cut the tank to half its size. I then put a plant in to give him more coverage to make his tank feel smaller. On Tuesday, I walked into a pet-store to ask a few questions and the pet-store employee told me that the old water dish was perfectly fine and I should just go back to it. He also told me to separate Oscar and feed him a small minnow. That night, I put him in a separate enclosure (a critter keeper) and put a minnow in it so he can eat it and while he was in there, I put his old water dish back. When I checked on him, it seriously looked like Oscar couldn't care less about eating! And the fish was dying. So I picked it up with my feeding tongs and let it touch his mouth. He finally ate! Quickly too! I decided not to mess with him on Wednesday to let him settle again and veg out.