Thread: Two fire bellies

Question Two fire bellies

Hi! I'm new to fire belly toads. It might not have been too smart to go buy a couple fire belly toads on a whim, so of course I did, lol. I have a stock tank set up out side. Its a 100 gallon stock tank, but its only about half full. Half of the tank is mountain granite, complete with a hideout, and a few abalone shells for aesthetics, while the other side is water. (A pleco and gold fish live there and I'm hoping the toxins from the fire bellies won't hurt them. Its probably about 20/30 gallons of water. )

Anyways, the toads' enclosure is outside as I previously stated, but the water is heated. (Although I DO turn the heater off in the summer and turn it on fall/winter-- 68degrees F) They are able to bury themselves in the rocks in the water. Since the water is heated, can I leave them out side in winter? I have several tanks and I can easily bring them inside in the winter. I'm also in CA, so it doesn't snow, or anything. The coldest its ever dropped is to about 15-20 degrees F and those are the COLDEST days we get in the dead of winter.

Another question I have is what do fire bellies eat? What do they NEED in their diet?
    Do they need plants? I have some anacharis growing in the tank. (Mostly for greenery and so my fish can nibble.)
    I'm currently offering them crickets and meal worms both fortified w calcium. I also have cuttle bone on hand, though I doubt they will eat it. I have a tiny piece in w my fish because "she" will nibble.

My biggest concern is that I have not seen either toad eat. This doesn't mean they haven't. Sometimes the crickets escape (I do have a "netted" wire covering, but sometimes a few get lucky and find a way out lol)

Also, thoughts on feeding fire bellies wax worms???

Thank you in advance!!!!
    -- Toadie

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Default Re: Two fire bellies