Thread: Beginner African Dwarf Frog Questions

Member needs to set country!

Question Beginner African Dwarf Frog Questions

Hello!
    I'm a beginner to frog keeping, and herp keeping in general. I had a fish tank in the past, which didn't do well thanks to lack of research, (completely my fault, but I've learned from my mistakes and taken a break from fishkeeping) but that's about the closest thing to experience I've had. I'm looking into keeping african dwarf frogs now, because herps seem like a good option for a beginner pet and easier than fish, and frogs seem very good. So, I have some questions that I figured would be easier to ask directly to a group of people with experience.

1. I saw a site say that african dwarf frogs have a salmonella risk, as all reptiles and amphibians do, (that I knew) but they suggested that just in case, you wear surgical gloves when "handling your frogs, their habitat, the water in their habitat, the filter media, or anything else that the frogs may have touched." and even with gloves to wash your hands directly after, and if the water gets on your clothes to immediately take them off and put them in the hamper and take a shower. Is it necessary to be this incredibly careful about it? Because when I hear reptile keepers talk about salmonella risks, they just casually mention to wash your hands before and after touching anything in the habitat or the animal itself. If it is necessary, then why is it so different for ADFs?

2. I don't have the money for vet bills, which is one of the reasons I want ADFs. (I do have the money for the habitat and frogs themselves though, and since I have a lot of leftover fish things, I'll probably have a bit extra even.) Are all of the diseases they can get treatable at home, or would I ever have to get vet help for something?