Thread: Suggestions on substrate

Question Suggestions on substrate

Hello, I posted here a while back about suggestions for a setup for a 40 gallon paludarium for my frog. And certain concerns I had about it and how to prevent some issues (namely hard water build up but enough about that.
    Here is more or less the setup I have now for Froggo.
    Name:  IMG_20171015_005611.jpg
Views: 270
Size:  3.28 MBName:  IMG_20171015_005605.jpg
Views: 267
Size:  3.51 MB
    She is a (AFAIK) southern leopard frog.

The only concern (and even then it's not the biggest deal) is any differing suggestions on substrate. Currently I have some experience terra 'jungle moss' in/under the log hide. I really like it because it allows her to dig herself in, but it can be a bit of a hassle to clean out of the water side. I didn't catch what species of moss it was, but I did see a decently sized wad of live moss for sale at Petco. It seems to hold together pretty well.
    If there's no other workable solutions, I'm fine with what I have now. I do like the moss as it's easier for her to get out of her mouth if she accidentally grabs some with food. Again, it just tends to disintegrate rather quickly in the water so it's hard to pick out.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Default Re: Suggestions on substrate

Quote Originally Posted by Magoop View Post
    Hello, I posted here a while back about suggestions for a setup for a 40 gallon paludarium for my frog. And certain concerns I had about it and how to prevent some issues (namely hard water build up but enough about that.
    Here is more or less the setup I have now for Froggo.
    Name:  IMG_20171015_005611.jpg
Views: 270
Size:  3.28 MBName:  IMG_20171015_005605.jpg
Views: 267
Size:  3.51 MB
    She is a (AFAIK) southern leopard frog.