Thread: What species is this frog?

Default What species is this frog?

Hi, new to the forum... So I rescued some Hyla Aborea tree frogs today. However, on closer inspection, I noticed they had vertical pupils which I have not seen before on a hyla aborea. Is that normal? they are also just oddly shaped but.. are these maybe a different species? Ive attached some images of them to help.
    Attached Images Attached Images   

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: What species is this frog?

I looked up the European Treefrogs, and none of the ones I found on Google images had vertical slits. I don't know what it is, but it looks different to me, though I'm no expert. Very pretty eyes, though.
    1 Male Giant African Bullfrog
    2 Woodhouse's Toads
    11 Pacific Treefrogs
    1 Dubia Roach Colony
    2 Australian Green Treefrogs

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries

Posting the picture on inaturalist.com might help you find someone who can identify this frog. I've tried and I can't.

100+ Post Member
    Nationality
    [United Kingdom]

It isn't Hyla arborea. It looks like one of the Leptopelis species to me, possibly nordequatorialis or similar.

When you say you 'rescued' them, what do you mean exactly?
    Find me on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/profile.php?id=100011064331624

Trachycephalus resinifictrix - Trachycephalus nigromaculatus - Agalychnis callidryas - Agalychnis spurelli - Phyllomedusa sauvagii - Phyllomedusa bicolor - Phyllomedusa vaillanti - Phyllomedusa tomopterna - Gastrotheca riobambae - Anotheca spinosa - Cruziohyla craspedopus - Cruziohyla calcarifer - Hyla arborea - Litoria caerulea.

Quote Originally Posted by Diver View Post
    It isn't Hyla arborea. It looks like one of the Leptopelis species to me, possibly nordequatorialis or similar.

When you say you 'rescued' them, what do you mean exactly?