Thread: Dumpy Tree Frog Overheating issue

Nationality
    [United States]

Default Dumpy Tree Frog Overheating issue

I am in a unique position where I live in a split house (one house where my side is constructed as a studio). I don't control the thermostat, the owner on the main side of those house does so, with it being winter and my house mate cranking the heat in the house to 85-90 degrees at night, I'm worried about my two new kids. I've got them in an exo-terra 12x12x18, coconut substrate, fake hanging plants (one small, one long) on each side, climbing log and a bath dish. I have a 40 watt infrared heat lamp hovering about 8 inches above it through the screen. I'm so worried the heat in the house is going to suck out the moisture in their home. Should I be worried? I apologize if there is any redundant posting here and I didn't find an old thread I should have. I'm a newbie to this (I got them as a gift for my daughters 4th birthday, she loves frogs!) but not an idiot, I did a ton of research first but didn't think the ONE thing through. Could I combine a fan? I'm trying to make sure it's super moist until I find out more. Also, are they down with slugs from outside?! Having issues adding pics.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

100+ Post Member
    Nationality
    [United Kingdom]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Dumpy Tree Frog Overheating issue

Hi

Please note that the 12x12x18" will not hold them for very long and they will need a 18x18x24" minimum when adults.

85-90F as an ambient temperature is too high, ideal for basking, but the ambient air should be about 77F — 82F max. However, this is a daytime temperature and then nighttime should drop to at least 75F.