Thread: Substrate for tree frogs

Nationality
    [Hong Kong]

Default Substrate for tree frogs

Hi there,

I have an unbranded tank with 3 red eyed tree frogs using paper towel substrate. I recently got PT2607 Exoterra (18x18x24inches) tank for my milk frogs and would like to use some more aesthetically pleasing substrate such as soil for my milk frog tank only.

As I've never used soil before, when I look up online people use hydro balls and put many layers in between. Can I just use soil and change it regularly (around once per month) without so many complications (no hydro balls etc.)? I WILL NOT be using any real plants.

Also, as my milk frogs are still babies (4 months old) can I use soil or will they by accident digest it? How old should they be until I use soil...
    Frogs owned:
    3 red eyed tree
    3 amazon milk
    3 fringe
    1 malayan leaf
    1 bushveld rain frog
    2 tripirion petasatus
    2 honey white's tree

Boarding:
    2 waxy monkey tree
    3 anotheca spinosa
    2 fringe
    3 cruziohyla calcifer
    9 mutant pacman frogs
    1 african bullfrog

Follow my instagram: bonitathepetsitter

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]

Default Re: Substrate for tree frogs

If you don't use the hydroball drainage layer, the soil will get waterlogged and possibly smelly because there will be a fair amount of water due to the misting and (hopefully you have one) shallow water area for them. The hydroball set-up is really not difficult. Most hydroponics stores have hydroballs. Just dump them into the enclosure to a 2-3" depth. Get some vinyl screening from Home Depot or equivalent, cut to fit and put it on top of the balls. Then use coco fiber (you can get it in compressed brick form) for several inches on top of that. If you change your mind and want to go with live plants, pothos and sansevieria work great. I also put a big piece of wood in there to kind of hold everything together.

Aliza

Nationality
    [Hong Kong]