Thread: Advice on Hyla chinensis care?

joeyboy

Default Advice on Hyla chinensis care?

I was wondering if the care for this species is pretty much the same as Hyla cinerea or not? Obviously it's going to be pretty similiar, but I imagine there could be a difference between temperature and humidity requirements between a South-Eastern US frog, and a frog which spans areas of China.

Secondly considering they grow to around 1.5-2", how many adults would I be able to comfortably house in an enclosure which is 1.5ftx1.5ftx2ft (45x45x60cm)? The tallest measurement being the height.

Finally, I'm new to amphibians, I was wondering if females of the species would call or not? I have heard they can be sexed and so I might get a group of females for now, since this enclosure is quite near my bed and crickets are bad enough, let alone a tree-frog chorus!

Cheers, joe

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [Ireland]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Advice on Hyla chinensis care?

Females don't call. Otherwise keep the same as Gray Tree Frogs (see the care article linked on every page of this site).
    Founder of Frogforum.net (2008) and Caudata.org (2001)

joeyboy

Quote Originally Posted by John View Post
    Females don't call. Otherwise keep the same as Gray Tree Frogs (see the care article linked on every page of this site).
    oh good, I read that as I assumed they probably had similar requirements being in the same Genus. Also good to hear I can get some sleep if I can buy sexed females.

Thanks for the help.

joeyboy

I've read that care sheet stickied at the top of the page, really good.

The only questions I have are:

1) You mention the smallest size exo terra could fit one pair, 2 at a stretch. I think the 45cm x45cm, x60cm is the largest arboreal enclosure, or was at the time of me buying it anyway. So I assume I could possibly fit 6 frogs in something this size?