Thread: Help! Sick FBT!

Nationality
    [Canada]

Default Help! Sick FBT!

Hello! I am new to the frog forum, and I joined because my FBT appears to be sick.

My family have had FBT's for about 7 years now, and we have never seen anything like what is wrong with this frog. He is about a year and a half old, which is not old for the species, as I have heard. He is fat and looks perfectly healthy on first glance. However, a few weeks ago, we started to notice him acting weird.

He swam in circles and tilted his head in a weird way. When he stopped swimming in circles, we thought that he was fine. Due to a leak in our previous cage, we changed the cage. The strange head tilt persisted, and he started to appear unbalanced when jumping. Today, when I checked on him, he was floating on his back in the water. I freaked out and thought that he was dead. However, a few minutes later, he swam around with his head underwater, and finally righted himself.

We took him out of the cage, and have him currently in isolation. Do you think what he has might could have infected our other two FBTs? I have watched him jump, and he doesn't seem to be able to without landing on his back.

Does anyone know what might be wrong with him, or if we could save him? Should I post pics?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

100+ Post Member
    Nationality
    [United Kingdom]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Help! Sick FBT!

Hello and welcome to the forum! I believe he may be toxing out. Place him in shallow water with floating cork bark for land and change the water several times a day to keep it extra clean until he appears healthy enough to be put back into the proper tank. I hope this helps.

Nationality
    [Canada]