Thread: Bufo Alvarius Hello

kesh42

Default Bufo Alvarius Hello

Hello everyone,

I am an amateur herp trying to learn all I can about amphibians and reptiles... Help me learn Thanks!!

ello fellow repti/anphi lovers,

I am looking for advice... I recently(5/25/2010) bought a Bufo Alvarius juvenile(about 4 inches) online, today i woke up to him having passed away, floating in his water bowl... He lived in a 30 gallon terrarium with a repti-bark substrate, a water bowl, a heating pad, and a ceramic heat emitter(60w). I fed him only gut loaded, vitamin dusted crickets. Although I never actually saw him eat, I know crickets where disappearing. I am trying to figure out what went wrong, or what I might have done to hurt his chances of survival.. I am procuring another one, and have read all the care sheets over and over, please if you have any information you think will help please don't hesitate to let me know! Thank you all

Keshava

JB you will be VERY missed...
    Last edited by Kurt; July 17th, 2010 at 12:45 AM.

Musicpanda

Default Re: Bufo Alvarius Hello

Sounds like he drowned, how shallow/deep was his water bowl?

kesh42

It's possible, and that's what I sort of thought as well, but I have always kept the water at more or less the same depth about 2". And he spent much of his time sitting it the water bowl... Thanks for you input!

SethD

Quote Originally Posted by kesh42 View Post
    Hello everyone,

I am an amateur herp trying to learn all I can about amphibians and reptiles... Help me learn Thanks!!

ello fellow repti/anphi lovers,