Thread: Crickets, Woodlice, & Nightcrawlers

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries

Default Crickets, Woodlice, & Nightcrawlers

In the 75 Gallon I have, the 3 species has bred, I've seen the crickets actually breed, and I found baby Woodlice and Nightcrawlers tonight. I have found evasive stone centipedes have also bred in there. I hope they get eaten by the Amphibs or Crickets. Surprisingly the Crickets have not gone after the Woodlice. So I could save a load of money if the 3 can continue to produce. This is the most incredible thing I've witnessed. 3rd Generation Crickets, offspring of Nightcrawlers and Wiodlice!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. This member thanks Larry Wardog for this post:

3. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

100+ Post Member
    Nationality
    [United States]

Default Re: Crickets, Woodlice, & Nightcrawlers

I've been raising my own crickets for over three years. I only have two fbt's to feed so it's overkill, but it beats having to go down to the pet store or elsewhere and stand in line. Also I find the crickets just as interesting as my fbt's. However I've not witnessed my crickets eating maggots or any other insects. Though they are classed as omnivores and should eat just about anything, it seems that they prefer vegetables over the insect or animal when available.

Are you just using one container for a continuous cycle? That must be messy and a pain to pick out appropriate size crickets for feeding. I use three sometimes four containers. The eggs are collected from one as they reach adult breeding status and then moved to a clean container to hatch. This makes it easier to select crickets of the correct size to feed. It also allows me to easily dispose of the older crickets that are not needed for breeding. And it keeps the containers from getting too filthy. The stench must be terrible if you are just using one.