Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pacman is mean!!!!

Amenagerie

Default Pacman is mean!!!!

I'm new to frogs and I've had a pacman for a couple months now. He/she was about the size of a nickel when I got it. It's larger than a golf ball now.
    I've always been careful to let it know it was me when I wanted to handle it. I was under the impression that they didn't bite out of meanness, but mistaken identity.
    He knew it was me, he kept hopping away and I finally cupped him. He nailed my middle finger. It actually hurt a little bit.
    Am I right? Are they mean?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]

Default Re: Pacman is mean!!!!

oh that stinks! I had a pacman when I was a kid, but don't know about them biting to be mean. More than likely he was scared/startled and did not want to be held since he was hopping away. Any animal will bite if they feel threatened. Not that you would hurt him by any means.

Nationality
    [Ireland]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Actually they generally don't bite out of defence, at least in my experience. He must have thought your finger was food. Be thankful he is this small - when they get bigger their teeth can go straight and deep into your flesh (ouch!).
    Founder of Frogforum.net (2008) and Caudata.org (2001)

Amenagerie

Quote Originally Posted by John View Post
    Actually they generally don't bite out of defence, at least in my experience. He must have thought your finger was food. Be thankful he is this small - when they get bigger their teeth can go straight and deep into your flesh (ouch!).
    That's what I thought. I'm willing to give him the benefit of the doubt for now. I just thought he couldn't have mistaken me since it was me he was running from.