Thread: Problem with some squirrel Frogs.

Iceni

Default Problem with some squirrel Frogs.

Hello people, I'm in search of some advice about squirrel frog.

Firstly I'd like to say I have a dumpy, and 2 fire bellys. They have been happily housed for a few months now with no problems at all. I'm not a frog expert But the Squirrels were recommended as a good step up to the final Poison darts i wish to keep in a few years.

Right, I got these frogs about 48 hours ago. I got 3 of them. They all looked healthy, The pet store got them in 7 days ago, they have been kept in the small container they were delivered in in the store. They have been fed and the pet store i got them from is one of the good pet stores where the shop is a mess because the guy spends all of his time looking after the animals rather than trying to keep things neat and tidy. He already has a house full of frogs fish and lizards so i have every confidence in his ability with these animals.

Anyway. I placed the three frogs in a small terrarium. The frogs are only small less than 1 inch in length so i wanted them in a smaller terrarium until they were at a size where i was confident they could find there food. The terrarium was set-up with a water bowl 2 inches deep filled with stones so the water was at a depth of less than 1/2 an inch at it's deepest points. There is no substrate in the tank. And there is a brand new synthetic plant in there as well.

Everything was washed before it went in in tap water, Including the tank, it's a 12x8x8 tank as a starter tank for them. Everything was then dried.

The water used in the tank after the initial cleaning had been left to stand for over 24 hours. Same in the same way i treat the water for the Dumpy firebellys and my fish to remove chlorine ect.