Thread: Planting in coco fiber?

Question Planting in coco fiber?

I'm still debating if i should make my not started vertical 10 gallon tank for a crested gecko or some dart frogs. This is my first time making a terrarium. My real question is can I plant live plants such as moss,ferns,lichens and other plotted plants in just ecoearth coco fiber or do I need to mix it with other things. I understand the drainage layer I need, I already have that all under control. I just need to know if the plants will thrive in only ecoearth coco fiber?? Thanks for viewing/responding!!!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Planting in coco fiber?

There are no nutrients in coco fiber and the plants will all die after a while. Most of us use abg mix for our plants, either purchased or homemade.
    2.0.3 Hyla versicolor "Eastern Gray Tree Frogs"
    2.2.0 Agalychnis callidryas "Red Eyed Tree Frogs"

0.0.3 Dendrobates auratus "Turquoise and Bronze"
    0.0.1 Anaxyrus fowleri "Fowler's Toad"

Nationality
    [Canada]

10 gal for crestedgecko is way way too small, as a temporary for juvenile, yes it would work, but definitely not for adult
    Save one animal and it doesn't change the world, but it surely changes the world for that one animal!

Is there any reason why you don't want to use ABG mix? I have some in a planter in my viv, and the plants are doing very well. They include a fern, and alsobia, and a snakeplant. I also have some stuffed into a deep crevice in the climbing branch, and have grown moss on it from NEHerp's moss slurry. I also have a pothos rooted directly in the wet drainage layer, that is doing phenomenally, and a snakeplant rooted in same, that's at least alive.

I don't know about ecoearth because I've never tried to grow anything in it.
    0.0.6 Hyla versicolor
    7.0.0 Dendropsophus leucophyllatus
    2.0.0 Homo sapiens sapiens (K & C, the *other* froglets)