Thread: Pacman Newbie

Nationality
    [United Kingdom]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Pacman Newbie

I am new to terrestrial frogs, I was planning on beginning with a Whites Tree Frog but where I live I have found them hard to get hold of, (especially when my local pet shops only sell aquatic frogs ) anyway I have decided to get a Horned frog because I have heard they are a good frog for beginners too.
    I have read a number of care sheets but I was wondering if I could get any advise from people who have had experience with these frogs, especially with heat matts, how often to feed, cleaning, things like this because I am new to them.
    I should also mention the frogs I am planning on getting are an Albino Argentinian Horned Frog (baby 4-7cm) or a Fantasy Horned Frog (baby 4-5cm) as listed on the website.

Thankyou for your help.

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Cebby75

Default Re: Pacman Newbie

Hello, I got a couple things that could help ya.

Firstly with the habitat, I would recommend a loose and fine substrate that would allow the frog to burrow with ease, because these frogs spend a good part of their day hidden in their bedding for a majority of the time. I would say either to get the EcoEarth brick, which works great and is what I am using now and it hold humidity great and stays nice and damp for them. Another safe alternative would be an organic potting soil. Make sure you provide a good 2 inches of substrate down. (Depending on your frogs size) To ensure his can obtain his closure by hiding away while he adjusts.

When using the heating mat place it on one side of the tank, and place a towel between the mat and the tank as to prevent burning the frog if he burrows to deep and meets the glass.