Thread: New pacman housing options

Default New pacman housing options

Hi guys I'm new to the forum and am interested in getting a pacman frog. Is it possible to house a pacman frog in a plastic sterility tub? I do the same thing with my snake to keep humidity in and was wondering if it was fine for frogs. Also is a heatpad the only source of heat I need if my house temps are normally around the mid 70's. I understand that I need to place it on the side.

Do pacmans need a temperature gradient? I've seen several people post their setups while using a che but that seems to affect the entire cage's ambient temps.

Thanks

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [Canada]

Default Re: New pacman housing options

Welcome to the forum, I think u can have them in a tub but im not an expert so I would wait for a someone who knows abit more on that. For the heat pad if u can hit daytime temps of about 82f then you will be ok. If you get a baby its crucial that you hit that temp, and you only want it to drop a couple of degrees at night. There is an excellent care sheet in the forum about pacman frogs. If this is your first one I would suggest you read it.

Nationality
    [Canada]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Hi and welcome to the forum! Yes you can have them in a tub, as long as it is small enough for a baby and bigger for an adult and you can maintain temps and humidity, you are all good. In fact most breeders and keepers with more pacs keep them in a modular tub system, similar to snake tub system, only no belly heat for frogs
    as for temp gradient, don't need it, If you don't heat up the bottom ( soil).
    Save one animal and it doesn't change the world, but it surely changes the world for that one animal!

Nationality
    [United States]