Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help(!) with Grey Tree Frogs

Rebel

Default Help(!) with Grey Tree Frogs

I am no beginner with frogs. I've kept various types for over 30 years, and even bred both fire-belly toads and mantellas. So I'm perplexed why I'm struggling with what is supposed to be an "easy" species. I've attempted to raise grey tree frogs in various settings: In a shaded terrarium in the backyard, In a planted terrarium in a greenhouse, and in a terrarium in my basement with LED lighting. I used planted tall tanks between 20 and 40 gallons each time. The tanks were decorated with branches and bark. For substrate I tried topsoil, peat moss, and also sphagnum. Typically I kept about 1-3 inches of water at the base with plenty of bark islands. I read that these frogs are sensitive to excessive humidity so I've experimented with a 12-V computer fan on top for ventilation. Feeding is primarily crickets, supplemented with earthworms from the backyard, pillbugs, and waxworms. The frogs generally show no trouble feeding.

IN the backyard the temperature ranged between 60 and 80 degrees, much like in the greenhouse. In the basement, it remained close to 70. The frogs were never situated in direct sun.

But for an "easy" frog they never last long. I buy 6 or 8, and within 2 months I'm down to one or two. The frogs die looking well fed. Sometimes they appear bloated but not always. Often I see them sitting on the ground, then a day or two later they are dead.

What am I doing wrong?

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [United States]
    Blog Entries
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: Help(!) with Grey Tree Frogs

These are one of the easier frogs. Please read the care sheet to double check that everything you're doing coincides with the recommended care - Frog Forum - Gray Tree Frog Care and Breeding
    2.0.3 Hyla versicolor "Eastern Gray Tree Frogs"
    2.2.0 Agalychnis callidryas "Red Eyed Tree Frogs"