Thread: How many crickets do I feed?

Krusty

Default How many crickets do I feed?

My dilemma is how many crickets to feed?

Previously I mentioned I am rather new to the hobby, and have been doing my homework on the subject, but have since ran into my current question.

I have 2 Western Boreal Chorus frogs (they are local to my area) and have been feeding them with crickets from a local pet store. The crickets (to me) seemed a little large for my little guys to handle. I would say the crickets would fall into 1/2 and larger in size which is no where near the space between my frogs eyes.

I decided to order some proper sized crickets from a place right here in my own province, who delivered 150 crickets of the 1/8 size - and are perfect for my guys to eat.

However, I think I tend to over feed, and banged out about 10 crickets into the tank on my first feed with these new crickets. My frogs appeared to relish in this new size food source and jumped around the tank eating them all up. I do not see any crickets left.

Is 10 of the 1/8 size enough to feed 2 frogs? Should I add more until I can figure out what is left and go from there on my next feed?

Any thoughts much appreciated!

2. # ADS
    Circuit advertisement

Nationality
    [Canada]
    Picture Albums: Member Photo Albums

Default Re: How many crickets do I feed?

Yes, I'd give as much as they can eat to see their limits, but watch it and remove any that are not eaten right after the feeding.
    You will also notice that some days they eat more, some less. 10 crickets for 2 frogs seem all right how often do you feed them?
    Save one animal and it doesn't change the world, but it surely changes the world for that one animal!

Krusty